Dead Man’s Corner Museum


Dead Man's Corner: Located At The Heart of History

Headquarters of the German paratroopers before being taken over by the American paratroopers, it is currently a museum dedicated to the former. Discover the story of this house which holds a unique and authentic collection of artifacts.

Here, the men of the 6th German parachute infantry regiment (PIR) nicknamed the «Green Devils » fought  fiercely for three days against the American paratroopers of the 101stAirborne Division.  On the morning of June 6 1944, the Commander of the German paratroopers, the major von der Heydte established his headquarters whereas the Dr Roos set up an aid station.

On June 8, as the Germans withdrew to Carentan the American Colonel “Iron Mike” Michaelis established the headquarters of his unit, the 502nd PIR of the 101st Airborne.



house


soldat-img


But Why This Strange Name?

In the village, it is said that the house is haunted! Some feel wandering souls there. Others feel uneasy due to the catchy reenactment. Through authentic artifacts that belonged to German paratroopers you will discover the strategic challenge with the city of Carentan and why this Dead Man’s Corner was so crucial during the seizure of this city. By visiting this place, you will step into history, learn more about both the meaning of this name and the men who fought at this very place.



What if The Artifacts Could Speak?

The «Green Devils» are waiting for you.

As you enter this famous house in which the bloodshed took place, you will be engrossed in the atmosphere of the very first moments of the landings as lived by the Germans. The events that took place here have been carefully recreated by the means of authentic artifacts to get you immersed at the core of history. Said artifacts were recovered from the ground for a large part of them and have shaped history. And their story is told by the very eyes of Major von der Heydte.



war-object




Your guide: Major von der Heydte

Whereas Lieutenant Colonel Wolverton’s avatar guides you through the D-Day Experience exhibition, Major von der Heydte shows you the way through the Dead Man’s Corner Museum. Prior to assuming command of Fallschirmjäger-Regiment 6 in January 1944, Friedrich August von der Heydte participated in the campaigns of Poland (1939) and France (1940). He also fought in Crete in May 1941 and North Africa from June 1942 to February 1943 after a period in Russia. Promoted to the rank of Major, and in spite of injuries sustained in a plane crash in Italy in September 1943, he ended up in Normandy in June 1944. When word spread that the Allies were landing, he decided to set up his command post in this house, overlooking the marshlands and the road to Carentan. As soon as you walk in the Dead Man’s Corner Museum, you will find yourself in the effervescence of his command post in the morning of June 6, 1944, battle orders roaring all around you – just a glimpse of what the German troops lived in the first hours of D-Day!


 

Chers visiteurs,

Comme vous l’avez probablement entendu le 12 juillet dernier, le gouvernement français vient de prendre de nouvelles mesures obligatoires à l’encontre des lieux de visites suite à la reprise de l’épidémie. Par conséquent, depuis le 21 juillet, nous sommes dans l’obligation de demander à tout visiteur de 18 ans et plus son Pass Sanitaire (ou un test PCR négatif de moins de 48h), afin de l’autoriser à entrer dans notre établissement. Tout ceci est bien évidemment indépendant de notre volonté, mais la conjoncture économique de ces derniers mois autant que la perspective d’une amende de 1500 € et d’une fermeture administrative de notre établissement nous obligent à suivre ces nouvelles règles. Le port du masque reste obligatoire pendant toute la visite, ainsi que dans notre salle de cinéma. Malgré tout, nous espérons vous voir très nombreux pendant cette période estivale. D’ici là, prenez soin de vous.

La Direction.

 


 

Dear visitors,

Considering the current sanitary context, the French Government has announced a new series of sanitary measures on July 12, 2021, which apply to cultural venues, including museums. Consequently, since July 21, 2021, every visitor aged 18 and over has been required to provide a Sanitary Pass (or a 48-hour negative PCR test) to be allowed to enter our facilities. Please note that these constraints are due to circumstances beyond our reasonable control; however, the unfavorable economic climate, as well as the €1,500 fine and forced closure incurred, compel us to comply with the present rules and regulations. Besides, wearing a face mask will remain mandatory in both the museum and the movie theater until further notice. Nevertheless, we look forward to seeing many of you during the summer period. In the meantime, take care!

D-Day Experience.

X

Dead Man’s Corner Museum


Cette maison emblématique a une histoire !

Ici, les hommes du 6ème régiment de parachutistes allemands, plus connus sous le nom de « Diables verts », ont combattu férocement, trois jours durant, les parachutistes américains de la 101ème Airborne Division. Le matin du 6 juin 1944, le commandant des parachutistes allemands, le Major von der Heydte y établit son poste de commandement avancé tandis que le Dr. Roos y établit une infirmerie de campagne.
Le 8 juin, les Allemands se sont repliés sur Carentan et à son tour le colonel américain «Iron Mike» Michaelis y établit le poste de commandement de son unité, le 502ème PIR de la 101ème Airborne.



house


soldat-img


Mais pourquoi ce nom étrange ?

Au village, on raconte qu’elle est hantée ! Certains y sentent des âmes errantes. D’autres sont mal à l’aise, tant la reconstitution est prenante. Au travers des objets authentiques ayant appartenu aux parachutistes allemands, vous découvrirez l’enjeu stratégique que représentait la ville de Carentan et pourquoi ce Dead Man’s Corner (Carrefour de l’Homme Mort) était si important dans la prise de cette ville. En visitant ce lieu chargé d’histoire, vous en apprendrez plus sur les origines de ce nom et sur les hommes qui s’y sont affrontés.



Et si les objets pouvaient parler ?

Les « Diables Verts » vous attendent.
Lorsque vous pénétrez dans cette fameuse maison qui fut témoin d’événements sanglants, c’est dans l’ambiance et l’effervescence des premiers moments du débarquement vécus par les Allemands que vous êtes plongés. Les événements ont ici soigneusement été recréés avec des objets authentiques pour vous immerger au coeur de l’histoire. Ces objets ont façonné l’histoire ; pour bon nombre d’entre-eux, ils ont été retrouvés sur le terrain. C’est par la bouche du Major von der Heydte qu’ils racontent leur histoire.



war-object




Votre guide : le Major Von der Heydte

Alors qu’à D-Day Experience c’est le colonel Wolverton qui interagit avec vous, au Dead Man’s Corner Museum, c’est le Major von der Heydte qui vous guide au travers des panneaux explicatifs. Avant de prendre le commandement du Fallschirmjäger-Regiment 6 en janvier 1944, Friedrich August von der Heydte a participé aux campagnes de Pologne (1939) et de France (1940). Il a aussi combattu en Crète en mai 1941, puis en Afrique du Nord de juin 1942 à février 1943 après un passage par la Russie. Promu major, et bien que grièvement blessé lors d’un accident d’avion en Italie en septembre 1943 le voilà désormais en Normandie en juin 1944. Lorsque la nouvelle du Débarquement se propage il décide d’établir son poste de commandement dans cette maison qui domine les marais et la route menant à Carentan. En entrant dans le Dead Man’s Corner Museum vous découvrez l’effervescence qui règne dans le QG allemand au matin du 6 juin 1944, le bruit des bombardements et les ordres du Major retentissent tout autour de vous. Vous voilà plongé(e) dans la peau d’un soldat allemand au matin du Débarquement !


 

Chers visiteurs,

Comme vous l’avez probablement entendu le 12 juillet dernier, le gouvernement français vient de prendre de nouvelles mesures obligatoires à l’encontre des lieux de visites suite à la reprise de l’épidémie. Par conséquent, depuis le 21 juillet, nous sommes dans l’obligation de demander à tout visiteur de 18 ans et plus son Pass Sanitaire (ou un test PCR négatif de moins de 48h), afin de l’autoriser à entrer dans notre établissement. Tout ceci est bien évidemment indépendant de notre volonté, mais la conjoncture économique de ces derniers mois autant que la perspective d’une amende de 1500 € et d’une fermeture administrative de notre établissement nous obligent à suivre ces nouvelles règles. Le port du masque reste obligatoire pendant toute la visite, ainsi que dans notre salle de cinéma. Malgré tout, nous espérons vous voir très nombreux pendant cette période estivale. D’ici là, prenez soin de vous.

La Direction.

 


 

Dear visitors,

Considering the current sanitary context, the French Government has announced a new series of sanitary measures on July 12, 2021, which apply to cultural venues, including museums. Consequently, since July 21, 2021, every visitor aged 18 and over has been required to provide a Sanitary Pass (or a 48-hour negative PCR test) to be allowed to enter our facilities. Please note that these constraints are due to circumstances beyond our reasonable control; however, the unfavorable economic climate, as well as the €1,500 fine and forced closure incurred, compel us to comply with the present rules and regulations. Besides, wearing a face mask will remain mandatory in both the museum and the movie theater until further notice. Nevertheless, we look forward to seeing many of you during the summer period. In the meantime, take care!

D-Day Experience.

X